You will be redirected to the page you want to view in  seconds.


AIM Pro Angler Brett King managed a Ninth Place finish in the recent AIM Pro Walleye Series tournament at Dubuque, Iowa. His three-day weight of 43.96 pounds was just enough to maintain his lead in the 2011 J. J. Keller Angler of the Year race. The cumulative results are making for the tightest race in the three year history of the AIM Pro Walleye Series.

Need more on the AIM Series?: These links will open in a new window.
More headlines
AIM tournament photos
Build a map of the Wolf River system
We're blogging about the tournament

The Angler of the Year calculations are based on the weight of the winning Pro at each event. At Dubuque, Robert Lampman staged a come from behind victory and posted a total weight of 87.58 pounds. This winning weight is assigned 100 points, or 100%. Each subsequent angler receives a corresponding point value equal to his or her total weight as a percentage of the winner’s weight.

The cumulative Angler of the Year standings include the point values from the Winneconne, Bay Mills, and Dubuque tournaments. Following the Dubuque tournament, the Top Ten in the 2011 J. J. Keller Fishing Team Angler of the Year race are as follows:

1. Brett King 202.23 points
2. Ross Grothe 190.48
3. Tommy Skarlis 187.62
4. Mike Gofron 187.13
5. Robert Blosser 179.99
6. Joe Okada 177.62
7. Brandon Carpenter 155.76
8. Keith Kavajecz 151.47
9. Gary Parsons 139.10
10. Mark Martin 125.50

The next tournament in the 2011 season is the AIM International Walleye Championship scheduled for September 15 – 17 at Akaska, South Dakota. This tournament will crown the 2011 AIM Champion. The Championship results will also be factored into the Angler of the Year race.

Once again for 2011, the J. J. Keller Fishing Team is dangling a $10,000 prize for the Angler of the Year. This award recognizes the most consistent angler over the four tournament season.

The spread between Brett King in first place and Mike Gofron in fourth place is only 15 points. Based on the large weights in previous Akaska tournaments, 15 percentage points could be a margin of only one walleye. Ross Grothe and Tommy Skarlis are also within the one fish margin. The 2010 J. J. Keller Fishing Team Angler of the Year, Robert Blosser is lurking in fifth position; Joe Okada is only 2 points behind Robert.

Tournament veteran Mike Gofron is returning to the scene of his 2009 AIM tournament victory at Akaska. Lund Pro Staffer Gofron also knows that Lund Boats has placed a $5,000 bounty on any Lund Pro that wins an AIM tournament. In addition, if the Angler of the Year has fished all four of the AIM events from a Lund he stands to pick up another $10,000 bonus! You can not count out Mark Martin, either. Lund Pro Martin has a history of tournament success on the Missouri River. A stumble by any of the AOY leaders could open the door for Martin to pick up the tournament victory and the Lund bonuses, especially with the seven fish daily limit with no slot limitations with the AIM CRR format.

For more about the AIM Pro Walleye Series, visit their site.

More In

Don't Miss

Join Our Team!

If you are interested in working for an innovative media company, you can learn more by visiting:

Gannett Careers

Wisconsin Day Trips

See all Day Trip Videoes

A new video will be shared in this series every Thursday

Get Published

Report on your outdoor group's news!'s Community Newsroom is a free service provided to clubs, nonprofits, schools, churches, families, scouting groups and civic organizations to publish their news, events and happenings on our website. Wisconsin residents with an interest in the outdoors are invited to write articles that edits and shares with our readers online.

Submit an article today